Plum Barbeque Sauce / Strong Women

  My last post was Butterscotch and yes it was great fun making and even greater fun serving it to my mum, dad and husband. Mr R had around  4 -5 pieces of them at one go and my mum also enjoyed it. I know my dad loves sweets and any sweet in any form cake or cookie, ice cream or burfi, my acha (dad) loves it! But I realized that I forgot the reason I started this blog. In between cleaning diapers, sleepless nights and a complete stand still in my career as a lawyer, the reason I started this blog was hold on to one thing that I could count as “still building and developing myself”. One thing my mum was good at was juggling home, her job, me (when I was a baby) and “the kitchen”. Now the reason I said “the kitchen” is cause, back in Kerala, when you say “Adakala”(kitchen), it does not just mean a gas stove and a pressure cooker. For my mum, every thing has to be perfect to the T. So when I say I want Chutney, it means bring out the big “Araakal” and fresh grated coconut and baby green chilies from the kitchen garden. Masala powders even today are made at home. (I have never bought Garam Masala Powder, coriander powder, Chilly powder or turmeric Powder ever) So when I was busying growing up I failed to see what she went through as a mother, a daughter, a wife and mostly as a lady! And there, even in that sentence I said “Lady” at the end. You know why? Cause some how, once you’r married and you have a baby and a home, you “the lady” some how becomes the last stop on your list. Yes, priorities change, but that does not mean that you should stop having time for yourself, right? And by the way, being a lady does not have anything to do with having a 9 -6 job! Nope. Do you stop being a lady when you are unemployed? Did you stop being a lady on your maternity leave?? Or when you took a year off to travel? So yeah, my blog is not a recipe blog, not a travel blog or a food and photography blog…. My blog is a summary of a lady who is also a mommy and wifey and daughter and a friend. My blog is about how I am holding my son on my lap right now as I type up this page to tell you that you are important. Being your self and discovering ‘you’ is as important as learning how your DSLR works or how mangoes go with anchovies ;0) My blog is about my love for food, my love for my family and my love for myself. Cause I live through family, food and photography 🙂  By the way, my poor baby is down with a bad stomach, so I had to rush him to the doctors and now he’s fast asleep on my lap. Apparently this is the stage where everything goes straight into their mouths thus the stomach flu. I hate having to give him meds. The poor fellow does everything not to have it but in the end he does finish it. Also the weather has been quite funny off late. It is hot and sunny one day and cold and windy the next. Nights are cold and windy. So by 9pm I have my socks on and my baby has his sweater over his onesie. Mr R on the other hand finds the weather pleasant and prefers shorts and cotton T!!   Plum!! I love plums! When I was around 5, my grandfather would send out the office boy to the fruit vendor who set up shop in front of the school where my mother taught. I still remember how the shop has fruit hanging from the rusted beams that held the rickety roof together. Some how there was never a season when you couldn’t find Bananas!! All sorts of them!! Big and small. Green, yellow and red. And pineapples!! And Papayas! And then in the corner hung this long plastic bag with red sweet sour plums!!

Plum Barbeque Sauce

Ingredients :-
  • Plums – 500 gms (cleaned, stoned and chopped)
  • Cinnamon Powder – 2 tsp
  • Ginger – 2 tsp
  • Garlic – 3 – 4 cloves
  • Pepper Powder – 1 tsp
  • Lemon – 1 (squeezed)
  • White Vinegar – ½ Cup
  • Sugar – 1 Cup (more if the plums are sour)
  • Soya Sauce – 2 tbsp
  • Worcestershire Sauce – 2 tbsp
  • Chilly Powder / Paprika – 2 tbsp
  • Salt – 1 tsp (more if necessary)
Instructions
  • In a heavy bottom pot, add the chopped plums. Leave the heat on low and let the plums cook for 10 – 15 mins. By then the plum would start to lose their water and become mushy
  • Add all the ingredients (apart from the salt) into the pot and let it simmer for another 15 mins. Make sure to stir the mixture at intervals to incorporate all the spices
  • Finally add salt according to taste. I used 1 tsp but you can add more depending on how you want to use the sauce.
  • Continue to cook the sauce till all the plum has completely turned into liquid. It should resemble a thicker version of ketchup.
  • Finally once the sauce is nice and thick, turn off the heat and let it sit in the pot till it cools down.
  • Store in a nice, clean, air – tight container.
  • Make this sauce the day before you want to marinate meat or poultry.
2 thoughts on “Plum Barbeque Sauce / Strong Women”

Leave a Reply

