Key Lime Zucchini Bread / Mommy talk

      I woke up this morning with a happy tune in my head, a warm hug from Mr R and my baby slept the whole night without waking up even once! That, for me is a good night’s rest. The nights when he wakes up wailing for milk or just to be carried and it takes so much out of me to just stay awake. But in that moment it is like an automatic reflex that just wakes you up and you just know what you have to do. So I wake up and I tend to my little Adi’s needs. Don get me wrong, Mr R wakes up too. But I just hate waking him up and I hate that he wont get a chance to rest like I would the next day. So yes, I do let him sleep through the night. But that’s just happens on weekdays! Weekends I sleep! Ha! And through all this sleep and no sleep cycle the one thing that is constant is “Change”. Oh I have read so many articles about how to put your baby on a routine but that’s the thing. The day I think I have my son on a routine is the day he falls sick, or he has had his shots and developed a fever or he just wants to sleep more and eat more. So, what I do is I just let him decide. I know he will tell me when he is hungry. Not by words but by actions. I know when he is sleepy and I know when he just wants to be held. And through all these emotions and changes I have learnt so much about myself. My tolerance, my idea of love, what it means to have your heart flutter in happiness and so much more. Yes motherhood means giving up so much, but when you see his two teeth smile and the pride in his face when he takes his first step. At that moment you just know that it was worth it all! To share that first moment with your baby is the best feeling in the whole world. So yes, my little baby took his first three steps today and I am so proud of him!! I felt like it was too early for him to start walking without my help. But the truth is I am so proud of him and I am proud of the mommy that I am to him J

Key Lime Zucchini Bread

Ingredients: –

  • AP Flour – 200gms
  • Sugar – 250gms
  • Eggs – 1 big (room temp)
  • Oil – ½ cup (any neutral smelling oil)
  • Key Lime juice – 3 tbsp
  • Salt – 1/2tsp
  • Baking Powder – 2 ½ tsp
  • Zucchini – 2 cups (grated zucchini)
  • Zest – from 1 lime
  • Butter Milk – ½ Cup (or half up milk + 1tbsp vinegar)

Instructions: –

  • Preheat oven to 180 C and butter your loaf pan and set aside
  • In bowl combine flour, baking powder, salt
  • In another bowl combine sugar, eggs, oil and whisk on medium speed
  • Then into the same bowl add lemon zest, buttermilk and lime juice. Once the mixture has combined well, scrape the sides of the bowl to incorporate all the ingredients
  • Then slowly add the grated zucchini a table-spoon at a time. Don’t add it all together, it will clump and you will have blobs of batter in the bowl. You also don’t want to deflate the egg
  • Finally add the flour mixture to the egg zucchini mixture, again in three parts
  • Combine well and make sure you scrape the sides of the bowl
  • Finally pour the batter into your buttered loaf pan and bake for 35 – 40 mins

For the glaze

  • Powdered Sugar – 1 cup
  • Lime juice – 3 tbsp
  • Milk – 3 tbsp

Combine the lime juice and sugar well in a bowl. Slowly pour in the milk till you find the mixture is almost like a syrup Pour this glaze onto the loaf once the zucchini bread has cooled completely

SONY DSC

1 thought on “Key Lime Zucchini Bread / Mommy talk”

  1. Hello there Parvathy

    You have a great blog with some great recipes and awesome photography. I am reaching out to you from http://www.itspotluck.com a social platform for Indian/Desi food lovers. It is a community of hundreds of food bloggers with thousands of recipes and counting. You might find some fellow bloggers from India and abroad as well on our platform.

    The current services are just a beginning and we will be adding additional functionalities that will truly make this a global platform for Indian food.

    We hope you like what we are presenting and would join our growing community of Indian food lovers. Don’t wait – join today in 2 easy steps. 1 – Register at http://www.itspotluck.com/register 2 – Submit your blog. Our facebook page https://www.facebook.com/its.Potluck is frequently updated with food related news and exciting recipes so stay connected via facebook as well.

    If you face any challenges in registering please contact us at comments@itspotluck.com

    Thank you and looking forward to having you as part of itsPotluck community.

    Please ignore this email if you are already a member.

    itsPotluck
    http://www.itspotluck.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

