Kesar Badami Dhoodh – Almond milk infused with saffron

acupcakeforlove

SONY DSC

 

SONY DSC

 

SONY DSC

 

SONY DSC

 

SONY DSC

 

Hello my Dear Wonderful Readers,

It has been a crazy few weeks and I cannot begin to explain how time flies when you have a one year old at home! But amongst all the tantrums, chaos, food spilling and noise, we have our share of giggles, tickles, big wide smiles and lots of running around the couch. When most times I say oh I can’t wait for him to grow up, secretly I am saying ” I hope you never grown up”. Confused mum syndrome! LOL

So this is my favourite alternative to ice cold smoothies and juices. We usually serve it hot specially during the winter months but in summers it’s served cooooldd. My grandmother would take me to this “Bengali Sweets” shop close to home and we would have some rasmalai and one glass of this milk. I remember how she would hold my hand all the way from home to the shop. We walked slowly, looking at the blue and grey walls of the air force base, the shops and owners all waving their hands to my granny and she smiling back politely. To me, my grand mothers are the strongest and bravest women I have ever known! Even today given a chance she would walk all the way to the temple and back ( just after her hip replacement surgery). She still stays at the same house and when ever we go there, I turn to see if the old “Bengali Sweets” shop still stands and trust me, there is never a time that it isn’t crowded. The distinct smell of khoya and badam alway comes rushing to my mind as I think of the shop and the sweets there. This recipe encases a small piece of that old memory for me 🙂

Ingredients :-

  1. Milk – 1 ltr
  2. Almonds – 1 cup
  3. Saffron – one good pinch ( more like 1/4 tsp)
  4. Sugar – 4 – 5 tsp ( according to taste)
  5. Cardamom – 4

Instructions :-

  1. Heat a mug of water in the microwave and once it’s nice and hot take it out and drop the almonds into it
  2. Let it sit for a half hour. This helps to remove the skin easily
  3. Once done, simply pinch one end of the almond and the skin comes off easily
  4. Using a blender, blend the de-skinned almonds to a fine smooth paste. You could add a little milk to the almonds
  5. Now in a pot, add milk and bring to a slow boil
  6. Once it begins to boil reduce the heat and add the smooth almond paste, saffron strands, cardamom and sugar
  7. Stir the mixture a couple of times and let the mixture boil for another 10 mins
  8. Your saffron almond milk is ready. Before you serve the milk, use a spoon to fetch out the cardamom from the milk
  9. Serve hot right away or cool and chill in the fridge for later
  10. Garnish with dry rose petal and crushed pistachio for that regal feel!

Enjoy!!

 

5 thoughts on “Kesar Badami Dhoodh – Almond milk infused with saffron”

Leave a Reply

