Strawberry Scones – Breakfast with Tea

SONY DSC

 

SONY DSC

 

SONY DSC

 

Hello my Dear Wonderful Readers!

How did you all celebrate the day of LOVE? I am sure you all exchanged gifts and big bouquets of flowers, and wore red and had candle light dinners right?

Well, I woke up early to surprise my husband with breakfast in bed. I made fluffy pancakes infused with sprinkles and topped it with boozy chocolate sauce, fresh water melon juice and coffee. But just as I was pouring the last pancake and setting up the tray, he walks right out of the bedroom and wished me and starts snooping around (completely ruined the surprise I had planned 😦 ). So it wasn’t really breakfast in bed! Oh well. The rest of the day was also a disaster, details on “how my husband almost gave me a mental breakdown and made me realize how much I love him” in my next post. He’s super sorry though, Lol.

For now, here is the recipe for my simple no fuss scones that go so well with tea on a nice peaceful morning. I baked them while my son was asleep and I was so happy cause I figured I could take a few good photos, but just like his father he woke up in the middle of my shot and as you can see, I lost a few strawberries (he loves strawberries) and then rest was history :). To my inquisitive and nosy babies (yes nosy hubby is a grown ass baby!!), I love you no matter how naughty you both are.

Ingredients :-

  1. Flour – 300 gms
  2. Butter  – 100 gms ( cold, cut into cubes)- take it out of the fridge at the end just before you start cooking)
  3. Sugar – 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  4. Fresh strawberries – 2 cups ( cleaned, hulled and chopped)
  5. Baking Powder – 2 tsp
  6. Salt – 1/4 tsp
  7. Vanilla Extract – 1 tsp
  8. Egg – 1  + 1 (for egg wash)
  9. Yogurt – 1/2 cup

 

 

Instructions :-

  1. Preheat your oven to 180 and line a baking tray with baking paper
  2. In the bowl of your mixer / food processor combine, flour, baking powder, sugar, butter and salt
  3. Pulse the mixture in the bowl for a second at a time for around 3 – 4 times. All you want is for the butter to break into the flour. (should resemble mud and stones)
  4. Throw in the chopped strawberries
  5. In another bowl, whisk together the egg, vanilla extract and yogurt
  6. Finally mix the wet ingredients into the dry using a fork. Do not over work the mixture
  7. Just combine till the mixture holds together (it should be firm and not sticky like bread dough)
  8. Finally liberally flour your work counter and dump the dough over the floured counter
  9. Bring the mixture together to form a round flat ball
  10. Using a knife or a pastry cutter, cut into eqaul halves and move carefully to the prepared baking tray
  11. Whisk the other egg and using a pastry brush, brush the tops of the cut halves with the egg
  12. Bake for 40 mins or till you see the tops of the scones turn nice and brown
  13. After  they are baked serve right away with tea, butter or choice of fruit

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Strawberry Scones – Breakfast with Tea”

Leave a Reply

