Homemade Marinara Sauce – Pasta Love

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Hello my Dear Wonderful Readers!!

Making everything from scratch may seem like a pain, but the benefits are numerous. I have come to realise that its ok to go that extra mile just to make things from scratch. So whenever and whatever I am making, I try to plan ahead. No it does not alway work but trying doesn’t hurt right? Like this pasta sauce was actually a mistake. We buy vegetables online and they get delivered either the same day or the next. So this time by mistake I ordered 4 kgs of tomatoes instead of just one. So now I have to finish the ripe ones some how. Thats when the thought of making pasta sauce came to mind. Its really simple and personally my family likes it better than any bottled pasta sauce we have bought off the self. Also most times, I end up using an entire bottle of pasta sauce and that really isn’t pocket friendly. So this way I know whats going into the sauce (no preservatives) and  I can add or adjust the flavour according to my taste. While typing this I just fed my one year old, washed dishes, shared dinner with my husband and cleaned up the kitchen! hahah. Thats how long it takes me to write on the blog ! Oh well. On the bright side, I will get this post up soon right? hehe

Ingredients :-

  1. Ripe Red Tomatoes – 1.5 kgs
  2. Water to boil the tomatoes
  3. Olive oil – 7 tbsp
  4. Onions – 3 cups
  5. Garlic Paste  – 3 tbsp  (around 12 cloves)
  6. Dry Basil – 2 tsp
  7. Dry Oregano – 2 tbsp
  8. Chilli Powder – 1 tbsp (according to taste)
  9. Pepper – 1 tbsp
  10. Salt – according to taste

Instructions :-

  1. Heat water in a heavy bottom pot
  2. Once the water comes to a boil, add tomatoes and cook till nice and tender
  3. Drain the water and set aside to cool
  4. When the tomatoes cool down, peel the skins off. It should come off easily if you have cooked the tomatoes well
  5. Now chop the tomatoes into two and using your hands, remove the seeds from the tomatoes
  6. Put all the tomatoes together and using your hand squeeze them together to form a nice pulp ( you could use a blender too but why bother :p)
  7. Now in a heavy bottom pot, heat oil.
  8. Once the oil is nice and hot add the onions and garlic
  9. As soon as the onions turn translucent, add the crushed tomatoes, chilli powder, dry oregano and dry basil
  10. Now cover and cook the mixture for 25 – 30 mins
  11. Taste after 20 mins and season accordingly
  12. We like it in thick consistency but if you want, you could run the mixture in the blender and make it thinner
  13. Store in an air tight container in the fridge
12 thoughts on “Homemade Marinara Sauce – Pasta Love”

  1. It is amazing how long it can take to write a blog post. You are truly amazing being able to juggle all of that, cook these amazing food and photograph them too! I am in awe.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 🙂 Thank you so much 🙂 Yeah every day I have to think twice if I really wanna make some ting, cause some days my son will not let me get into the kitchen. But I try 🙂 I hope I can get better at this some day 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

