Teriyaki Baked Tofu with Udon Noodles Salad

DSC_0419-2

DSC_0412

DSC_0427

DSC_0419-2

Hello my Dear Wonderful Readers!

How have you all been? I really miss blogging as often as I did before and I wish there was a way out, but there is just so much happening that every post is pretty much a miracle. Even food seems to come from every where else but my kitchen! We have had cousins over and new plans on our minds and the little one seems to get a little more naughty every  passing day. Also I don’t know how many of you feel it, but when its this hot, I just can’t get my self to cook. I feel like my kitchen is a furnace and unless it really necessary (meaning my son’s food) I make excuses to sit under a fan and drink some ice cold water! So as part of the salad craze that I had last week, I made this once for a Friday night dinner and let me tell you , it was awwwwweeeessssoommmeee!! The crunchy vegetables and the perfect soft yet spicy tofu was just the best thing to have on a warm summer evening.

Ingredients for the Teriyaki Sauce

  1. Water – 2 cups ( remove 2 tbsp of water separately in a bowl)
  2. Soya Sauce – 2/3rd cup
  3. Dark Brown Sugar – 1/2 Cup ( add more if you like it sweeter)
  4. Crushed Ginger – 2 tbsp
  5. Crushed Garlic – 2 tbsp
  6. Corn Flour – 2 Heap Tbsp

Instructions 

  1. In a sauce pan, mix water and soya sauce and bring to a boil
  2. Then add the brown sugar, ginger, garlic and stir well
  3. Now let the mixture boil for 15 mins ( this will being out the flavours from the ginger and garlic)
  4. After 15 mins, mix the corn flour with the 2 tbsp of water separately. Mix well
  5. Add the corn flour mixture to the soya sauce and water mixture
  6. Finally boil the mixture for another 10 mins
  7. It will turn into a thick sauce
  8. Your teriyaki sauce is ready

Instructions for the Noodles :- 

  1. Heat water in a pot and cook noodles according to the instructions on the pack.
  2. Once the noodles are ready and drained, add 1.4 of the prepared teriyaki sauce to the noodles and give it a good toss

Ingredients for the Tofu

  1. Teriyaki Sauce
  2. Silken Tofu – 1 block ( we love silken tofu cause of its cheesy texture but you can use any tofu that you like)
  3. Sesame oil – 2 tbsps
  4. Sesame Seeds – 1 tsp

Instructions for the Tofu

  1. Pre heat your oven to 200C and line a baking tray with foil
  2. Brush the silver foil with some sesame oil and set aside
  3. In another bowl, cut the tofu and insert skewers into the tofu and arrange evenly over the prepared foil lined baking tray
  4. Spoon the prepared Teriyaki Sauce over the tofu and let it rest for 15 mins ( while the oven pre heats). Sprinkle some sesame seeds and some sesame oil over there tofu for extra flavour
  5. Once the oven is ready, pop the tray into the oven and roast for 45 mins at 200C
  6. After the tofu is ready, prepare a salad bowl with all your favourite vegetables.
  7. Line the bottom with the teriyaki noodles and place the tofu skewers over the noodles!
  8. Ready to Dig IN!!
10 thoughts on “Teriyaki Baked Tofu with Udon Noodles Salad

  1. OMG Parvathy, the photos are killer ones! :). I totally understand, the kitchen being a furnace in summer. Enjoy the precious moments with your little one. -Sreelatha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Sreelatha!! Yes thats why I am slowing down with the posts too. I don wanna miss out on the small things! Also for some strange reason I feel guilty when I am working and he’s playing alone! :0)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I am absolutely literally drooling over this, like ohmygaawd seriously. I love it. I saw this on your instagram and this is o perfect. Good job. Trying this recipe as soon as I get my hands on these noodles, a bit hard to find here in my city for some reason.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much luv ❤ It wasn't really easy to find them here too, but now there is this new company I discovered that makes them and it quiet good. I think it was called Red Dragon. They are made in India. Pretty good actually 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

