Mango Spinach and Honey Smoothie – Sweet Green Nectar

 

DSC_0155

Hello my Dear Wonderful Readers!!

Its been so long that for some time I wasn’t sure I would ever get back to blogging! As the days go by, I find my self wishing for an extra hour every day. Time seems to be on the highway to the Himalayas and I am still packing my bags and trying to get ready for the next journey. But on the bright side, we have been eating healthy, the family health is in check. Choosing and living healthier seems to some thing, ever body is game for now and my little one is half way to eating on his own. Its so funny how my day begins and ends with food! And no I do not mean breakfast and dinner.

Now this recipe is something we have been having for the last few months, since mangoes are back in the market. Before I get to the recipe, I wanted to tell you that I have seen many people buy baby spinach leaves and just dump it into the mixer to make smoothies. Here is the thing, I have also seen how local vendors wash fresh greens in puddles and gutters over flowing with rain water. So you get where I am going with this right? My sincere advice is no matter what you do and how organic you think your produce is, there is no reason why you should not be washing your vegetables and fruits before you use them in your recipes. That being said, this is how I wash fresh greens. I make sure to cut off the stem on any part I am not using, then I immerse the leaves into cold water and leave it there for 15 mins. Then I vigorously wash the greens under running water, one leaf at a time. I make sure to wipe both sides of the leave with my fingers to ensure there is no mud or insects hidden between the tiny veins of the leaf and finally I put it back into another bucket of water to sit for 5 mins. Now I have one of these salad leaf driers, so I put them in there and rotate the handle to get rid of all the excess water. If you do not have that apparatus, you could just spread the leaves on a clean kitchen cloth and that will do the trick too.

Now getting back to the recipe, this smoothie stands as a base over which you could add so many kinds of fruits. Fruits not only alter the colour and taste of the smoothie but also its consistency. So if you want a nice think creamy smoothie, I suggest you add frozen bananas into the mixer before you blend it all. Alternatively you could add berries like cranberries or blue berries for a little sour punch. The choice is yours 🙂

 

DSC_0165

 

Ingredients :-

  1. Mango – 3 cups ( diced) – frozen
  2. Fresh Spinach – 200 gms ( torn into small pieces)
  3. Coconut water – 3 cups
  4. Bananas – 3 ( frozen) – optional
  5. Honey – 2 tsp ( according to taste)
  6. Ginger – 2 cms piece

Instructions :- 

  1. In the bowl of your blender add all the ingredients apart from the coconut water
  2. Blend on high speed and slowly add as much water as required to bring to the consistency you like. Ideally I would use all 3 cups
  3. Finally pour into glasses and enjoy a wonderful morning breakfast!!

 

4 thoughts on “Mango Spinach and Honey Smoothie – Sweet Green Nectar”

  1. I wan to get my hands on that salad spinner, and I am one of those that just dumps the baby spinach in the blender (since the packet says triple washed). But you are right, there is no harm in washing to be safe. This smoothie sounds lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Shumaila 🙂 Aclty here in Indian you never know. I freak out about tiny things like cut onions in a restaurant and the source of water served etc so cleaning vegetables are also way up high on the list 😛 I think it runs in the family. (I get it from my mum )

      Like

Leave a Reply

