Chicken Kurma – A mild chicken curry cooked in a coconut cashew nut cream base

dsc_0937

dsc_0946

Happy New Year my dear wonderful readers!!

How have you all been? I hope you had a wonderful time the last few weeks. We had such a blast! My in-laws were here and the kids and the cousins and we all had such a fun time. Is it just me or does it feel like times travels very fast during the holidays? Every day we did something different and my mum showed me so many new recipes and tricks. I can not wait to share them with you. So the last couple of days we also ate our hearts out with all sorts of kerala food and not so Kerala food. My mum made an increadible Sri Lankan chicken curry that was out – of – this world. In total we had the best time ever. My son had such a great time with the kids that even today, he thinks they are playing hide and seek and once in a while we hear him say ” where are you hiding?” It breaks my heart 😦 . But life must go on and we are back to the same old routine of a boring suburban family. But food seems to be the highlight of every day! For me every time I decide to enter the kitchen I try to make a new thing or a thing that was a hit the last time, for my son that means more tv time , my husband – it gives him another reason to come back home soon. So all in all food is what makes this family happy 🙂

So today I have a wondefull recipe that I wanna share with you. Now before I get into this recipe I would like to say that ” Kurma” is a word that is synonymous to “Korma / Quorma ” and every household has a different recipe for it. Infact in my family we have close to 5 ways of making it. But unifying factor is the fact that it all includes a little curd and some sort of nut or seed butter / Cream. Now for instance you could also make this with poppy seeds, almonds etc. I have used coconut and cashew nuts in this recipe but you could use any variation and I will share more recipes as I go along. For now I shall leave you with the recipe.

Ingredients :-

  1. Chicken – 1 kg
  2. Cashew nuts – 1/2 cup ( soaked in hot water for 1 hour)
  3. Desiccated coconut – 1 cup
  4. Green Chilies – 5 ( adjust to taste)
  5. Onions – 2 cups ( chopped fine)Coconut Oil – 3 tbsp
  6. Curry Leaves – 12
  7. Fennel Seeds – 1 tbsp
  8. Cumin Seeds – 1/2 tbsp
  9. Cumin Powder – 1 tsp
  10. Garam Masala Powder – 1 tsp
  11. Cinnamon – 1 inch stick
  12. Pepper Corns – 1 tbsp
  13. Turmeric –  1 tsp
  14. Coriander Powder – 2 tsp
  15. Salt to taste
  16. Water – 1/2 cup
  17. Ginger Garlic Paste – 2 tbsp
  18. Yogurt – 1/2 cup

 

 

 

Instructions :-

  1. Heat oil in a heavy bottom pan. Once the oil is hot add the onions and sautee till pink.
  2. Then add the ginger garlic paste and fry till the raw smell disapprears
  3. Now cover the pan and cook on low till the onions have finally cooked through but make sure not to fry them to brown
  4. During that time, in a blender bowl add the cashew nuts, coconut, cumins seeds, Fennel Seeds, pepper corns, cinnamon and a dash of water. Grind to make a thick coarse paste
  5. Once the onions have cooked well (and before they turn brown) add the ground coconut mixture.
  6. Add the yogurt and give it a good mix and cover and cook till you see the oil split from the mixture
  7. Make sure to stir every min  or else the paste might burn
  8. Once the mixture is thick and leaves oil from the sides, add the chicken, mix well and add the turmeric, coriander, garam masala and cumin powder
  9. Now add the curry leaves and give the mixture a good mix. Spoon in the yogurt and mix well again
  10. Cover and cook for 5 mins
  11. Then add water and salt and cover and cook till the chicken is cooked well
  12. Once the chicken is cooked, remove the cover and cook on high for another 5 mins
  13. Serve right away with hot chappatis, roti or rice

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Chicken Kurma – A mild chicken curry cooked in a coconut cashew nut cream base”

Leave a Reply

