Mango and Almond Chip Ice Cream

SONY DSC

Its summer time and that means its mango time! I am going to try making as many mango based yummies as I can. My little baby boy Adithya just turned 7 months and now he’s constantly on his fours, crawling around the house, trying to climb up and always falling down while sitting up straight. So I spend most of my time on the floor along with him. So posting recipes are little slower these days. And I usually cook only when he is asleep or when my husband is on baby duty. That happens only on weekends as he’s constantly working!

My little Adi just started solid food and we started with Banana. Now he has Raggi ( finger millet), carrots, rice, lentils and orange juice. I think I will introduce him to Mango too. Any way , this means I am constantly either feeding him or cleaning him. So sitting down and typing in these recipes don happen often.

Alright! Let’s get to the recipe huh….. 🙂

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Ingredients 

1) Mango puree – One cup ( I just cut two big mangoes and ran in the blender to make one cup of mango pulp)

2) Powdered Sugar – Half cup ( I used a little more cause the mango wasn’t as sweet as I would have wanted)

3) Milk Powder – 1 cup and 2 tsp

4) Salt – A pinch

5) Fresh Cream – 200 ml

6) Toasted Almonds – A hand full, finely sliced

Instructions –

In a mixer, add the mango pure, cream and sugar and blend till they combine well.

Then add the milk powder and salt and blend well. Make sure to scrape the sides of the bowl as the milk powder may stick to the side of the bowl. Once the mixture is ready pour into the required ice cream bowl/ container.

Make sure you churn the mixture every one hour 3- 4 times. And at the final churn add the almonds to the mixture uniformly around the container and let it sit in the freezer overnight .

The next morning you have fresh mango ice cream with no added additives or color or preservative. Enjoy!!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

One thought on “Mango and Almond Chip Ice Cream”

Leave a Reply

